In short: To study in Spain as an international student you apply for: Student visa (long-term stay for studies) and TIE. Spanish consulate for your place of residence, often through its visa provider (BLS International) by appointment. Legal decision period of one month; apply at least two months in advance. Every line on this page was read on an official page, which is linked beside it; the facts were last checked on 6 October 2026.
| Visa or permit | Student visa (long-term stay for studies) and TIE |
|---|---|
| Application fee | Not stated on the official pages we read |
| Money to show | EUR 600 per month of stay (100% IPREM; +450 first family member, +300 each additional) (exteriores.gob.es) |
| Processing time | Legal decision period of one month; apply at least two months in advance. (exteriores.gob.es) |
| Where you apply | Spanish consulate for your place of residence, often through its visa provider (BLS International) by appointment. (exteriores.gob.es) |
| Last checked |
Authority: Ministry of Foreign Affairs (Spanish consulates) and Foreigners' Offices / Police (TIE). Official portal: Spain - Migraciones.
Admission to a recognised higher education institution and proof of paid registration or enrolment fees.
Source: exteriores.gob.es · checked on
Source: exteriores.gob.es · checked on
Proof of having paid registration, enrolment or equivalent fees required by the institution.
Source: exteriores.gob.es · checked on
100% of IPREM, EUR 600 per month for 2026; reduced if accommodation is prepaid. Proof: 6 months bank statements, scholarship, or sponsor letter.
Source: exteriores.gob.es · checked on
Spanish consulate for your place of residence, often through its visa provider (BLS International) by appointment.
Source: exteriores.gob.es · checked on
Download the national visa application form from the Spain Visa Application Centre website, book an appointment there and hand in the signed form with your documents in person.
Spain Visa Application Centre (thespainvisa.com), named by the Embassy of Spain in Islamabad: thespainvisa.com · form: Solicitud de visado nacional (national visa application form)
Source: exteriores.gob.es · checked on
In Pakistan the visa fee is paid only in cash, in Pakistani rupees at the current exchange rate, at the Spain Visa Application Centre. The fee is not refunded.
Source: thespainvisa.com · checked on
The consulate may call the applicant for a personal interview.
Source: exteriores.gob.es · checked on
The consulate gives you a receipt when you apply, and you can follow the case on the Spanish Foreign Ministry's online consular status service.
Official tracking page: sutramiteconsular.maec.es
Source: exteriores.gob.es · checked on
Once the study stay authorisation is approved, the consulate decides on the visa within one month at most.
Source: exteriores.gob.es · checked on
An issued visa must be collected in person by the applicant, or by the legal representative if the applicant is a minor.
Source: exteriores.gob.es · checked on
The consulate can ask the applicant to hand in missing documents or extra documents or information needed to decide the application.
Source: exteriores.gob.es · checked on
Steps as read on the official pages; checked on 15 September 2026.
Legal decision period of one month; apply at least two months in advance.
Source: exteriores.gob.es · checked on
Application must be submitted in person at the visa centre on the appointment day.
Source: exteriores.gob.es · checked on
Public or private insurance covering all Spanish public health system risks, no co-payments; limit never below EUR 30,000; travel insurance not accepted.
Source: exteriores.gob.es · checked on
Medical certificate stating no illness posing a public-health risk under International Health Regulations 2005, issued within 3 months.
Source: exteriores.gob.es · checked on
For visas over 6 months (18+): certificate of good conduct from countries of residence in the past five years, within six months.
Source: exteriores.gob.es · checked on
Foreign public documents need an official translation into Spanish by a sworn translator where applicable; legalise first, then translate.
Source: exteriores.gob.es · checked on
All foreign public documents must be legalised or apostilled; non-Hague countries verified by the Spanish consulate there.
Source: exteriores.gob.es · checked on
Higher education students may be employed or self-employed automatically, up to 30 hours per week, if compatible with studies.
Source: exteriores.gob.es · checked on
Spouse/partner and children of higher education students can apply, even at the same time; extra funds EUR 450 first, EUR 300 each additional per month.
Source: exteriores.gob.es · checked on
For stays over 6 months, apply for the TIE within one month of entry at the Foreigners' Office or police.
Source: exteriores.gob.es · checked on
We did not find these on the official pages we read for Spain: the application fee, a language requirement. That means "not stated on the pages we read", not "not required": ask the authority above, or check the official portal, before you apply.
The official pages say more for applicants in: Pakistan.
Which office handles applications from some other countries, as the official pages state:
ForiForeign prepares your student visa application with you and guides you through each step: the documents, the forms and the order to do them in. You file the application yourself with the authority named above, and that authority decides. ForiForeign is not a visa office or an agent of Spain, and no one can promise a visa. Rules, fees and dates change: confirm each one on the official page linked beside it before you pay or travel.
The same facts for software and AI assistants: /facts/visa/es.json.
ForiForeign.com · admin@foriforeign.com · WhatsApp +92 310 5048760 · Information drawn from official sources shown on each rule; not legal advice.
About · Contact · Privacy · Terms · Cookies · For consultancies · For universities · For employers · Policy updates