In short: To study in South Korea as an international student you apply for: D-2 student visa. Submit the application form and documents to a Korean embassy, consulate general or representative office abroad. About USD 60 for a single-entry visa for stays of 91 days or more; the Bangladesh mission also lists USD 60, non-refundable. Not stated on the pages read. Every line on this page was read on an official page, which is linked beside it; the facts were last checked on 6 October 2026.
| Visa or permit | D-2 student visa |
|---|---|
| Application fee | USD 60 (studyinkorea.go.kr) |
| Money to show | Proof of financial ability is required; amount varies by mission. (overseas.mofa.go.kr) |
| Processing time | Not stated on the pages read. (overseas.mofa.go.kr) |
| Where you apply | Submit the application form and documents to a Korean embassy, consulate general or representative office abroad. (studyinkorea.go.kr) |
| Last checked |
Authority: Ministry of Justice (Korea Immigration Service); visas issued by Korean diplomatic missions. Official portal: HiKorea.
Standard Admission Letter issued by the university president or dean.
Source: studyinkorea.go.kr · checked on
Source: studyinkorea.go.kr · checked on
Proof of financial ability is required; amount varies by mission. Bangladesh mission: bank solvency certificate, 6-month statement, tax certificate and tax returns.
Source: overseas.mofa.go.kr · checked on
About USD 60 for a single-entry visa for stays of 91 days or more; the Bangladesh mission also lists USD 60, non-refundable. Local amount may vary by mission.
Source: studyinkorea.go.kr · checked on
| Charge | Amount | What the official page says | Source, checked |
|---|---|---|---|
| Visa fee (government) | USD 60 | About USD 60 for a single-entry visa for stays of 91 days or more; the Bangladesh mission also lists USD 60, non-refundable. Local amount may vary by mission. | studyinkorea.go.kr, 15 September 2026 |
Submit the application form and documents to a Korean embassy, consulate general or representative office abroad.
Source: studyinkorea.go.kr · checked on
The student fills out the e-Form on the Korea Visa Portal, prints it with its bar code, and then submits it in person at the Korean embassy with the passport and the other documents.
Korea Visa Portal (e-Form Visa): visa.go.kr · form: e-Form (Visa) visa application form with bar code
Source: overseas.mofa.go.kr · checked on
The visa fee is paid when the application is handed in at the embassy and is not refunded if the visa is refused. In Pakistan it is 18,000 rupees for stays over 91 days.
Source: overseas.mofa.go.kr · checked on
Some Korean embassies interview student visa applicants; for example the embassy in Israel books a visa interview for every student applicant. Check the embassy for your country.
Source: overseas.mofa.go.kr · checked on
After applying, the applicant checks progress on the Korea Visa Portal.
Official tracking page: visa.go.kr
Source: overseas.mofa.go.kr · checked on
The Korean Embassy in Pakistan states a minimum of 8 weeks after it receives the application. Other embassies state shorter times, so check the embassy for your country.
Source: overseas.mofa.go.kr · checked on
No visa sticker is put in the passport. The passport is returned with a visa grant notice on paper, and this notice is the visa the student shows when entering Korea.
Source: overseas.mofa.go.kr · checked on
The embassy may ask for more documents, such as bank statements, and the applicant must send them for the case to continue.
Source: overseas.mofa.go.kr · checked on
Steps as read on the official pages; checked on 15 September 2026.
Not stated on the pages read. The Bangladesh mission asks for applications at least 5 days before term starts.
Source: overseas.mofa.go.kr · checked on
TB test result required where applicable; the Bangladesh mission requires one from a designated centre within 3 months.
Source: overseas.mofa.go.kr · checked on
Mission-specific: the Bangladesh mission requires a police clearance issued within 3 months; not on the national list.
Source: overseas.mofa.go.kr · checked on
No national rule on the visa list; the Bangladesh mission asks for a TOEFL or IELTS certificate from the last 2 years.
Source: overseas.mofa.go.kr · checked on
Varies by mission. Singapore mission: foreign certificates apostilled in the issuing country or notarised by the Korean embassy there.
Source: overseas.mofa.go.kr · checked on
Part-time work needs immigration permission and Korean proficiency; e.g. bachelor's 10 hours on weekdays, 25 with required TOPIK. A D-10 job-seeking status exists after study.
Source: studyinkorea.go.kr · checked on
Stays over 90 days require alien registration within 90 days of entry.
Source: studyinkorea.go.kr · checked on
We did not find these on the official pages we read for South Korea: health insurance, fingerprints and photo. That means "not stated on the pages we read", not "not required": ask the authority above, or check the official portal, before you apply.
ForiForeign prepares your student visa application with you and guides you through each step: the documents, the forms and the order to do them in. You file the application yourself with the authority named above, and that authority decides. ForiForeign is not a visa office or an agent of South Korea, and no one can promise a visa. Rules, fees and dates change: confirm each one on the official page linked beside it before you pay or travel.
The same facts for software and AI assistants: /facts/visa/kr.json.
ForiForeign.com · admin@foriforeign.com · WhatsApp +92 310 5048760 · Information drawn from official sources shown on each rule; not legal advice.
About · Contact · Privacy · Terms · Cookies · For consultancies · For universities · For employers · Policy updates