In short: To study in Norway as an international student you apply for: Study permit (residence permit for studies). Register and pay online first, then hand in passport and documents at a VFS centre or Norwegian mission. UDI processes the application. Every line on this page was read on an official page, which is linked beside it; the facts were last checked on 6 October 2026.
| Visa or permit | Study permit (residence permit for studies) |
|---|---|
| Application fee | Not stated on the official pages we read |
| Money to show | NOK 170,368 per year (2026-2027, HK-dir estimate) (studyinnorway.no) |
| Processing time | UDI processes the application. (norway.no) |
| Where you apply | Register and pay online first, then hand in passport and documents at a VFS centre or Norwegian mission. (norway.no) |
| Last checked |
Authority: Norwegian Directorate of Immigration (UDI). Official portal: UDI - Norwegian Directorate of Immigration.
Admission as a full-time student at a Norwegian institution.
Source: studyinnorway.no · checked on
Source: norway.no · checked on
Non-EU/EEA degree students normally pay tuition.
Source: studyinnorway.no · checked on
HK-dir estimate: at least NOK 15,488/month or NOK 170,368/year (2026-2027).
Source: studyinnorway.no · checked on
Register and pay online first, then hand in passport and documents at a VFS centre or Norwegian mission.
Source: norway.no · checked on
You register the application and pay the fee online in the UDI application portal, then hand in your passport and the checklist documents at a VFS application centre or a Norwegian mission. You must print, sign and bring the cover letter you receive by email.
UDI application portal (Norwegian Directorate of Immigration): udi.no
Source: norway.no · checked on
The fee is paid online in the application portal when you register the application. The confirmation email includes the payment receipt.
Source: norway.no · checked on
UDI processes the application. The current processing time must be checked on the UDI website.
Source: norway.no · checked on
You are told the result by email at the address used to register the application. After you arrive in Norway you book a police appointment to get your residence card.
Source: norway.no · checked on
The mission or UDI contacts you if more information is needed, and you send what is asked for. Missing documents can delay the application.
Source: norway.no · checked on
Applicants normally appear in person at VFS to give fingerprints and a photo.
Source: norway.no · checked on
Up to 20 hours per week during studies and full time in holidays. A job seeker permit after graduation may be possible.
Source: studyinnorway.no · checked on
Pre-book a police appointment for the residence card, within your first seven days or the first available slot.
Source: norway.no · checked on
We did not find these on the official pages we read for Norway: the application fee, the processing time, health insurance, a language requirement, a police certificate, a medical examination. That means "not stated on the pages we read", not "not required": ask the authority above, or check the official portal, before you apply.
The official pages say more for applicants in: Pakistan.
Which office handles applications from some other countries, as the official pages state:
ForiForeign prepares your student visa application with you and guides you through each step: the documents, the forms and the order to do them in. You file the application yourself with the authority named above, and that authority decides. ForiForeign is not a visa office or an agent of Norway, and no one can promise a visa. Rules, fees and dates change: confirm each one on the official page linked beside it before you pay or travel.
The same facts for software and AI assistants: /facts/visa/no.json.
ForiForeign.com · admin@foriforeign.com · WhatsApp +92 310 5048760 · Information drawn from official sources shown on each rule; not legal advice.
About · Contact · Privacy · Terms · Cookies · For consultancies · For universities · For employers · Policy updates